Andhra Pradesh Elections 2024 Avatar

AP Elections 2024: A Pivotal Political Showdown

The 2024 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly election is poised to be a significant event in the state’s political landscape. Scheduled to take place on May 13, 2024, this election will determine the composition of the state’s legislative assembly. Here’s a comprehensive overview:


The current tenure of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly is set to conclude on June 11, 2024. In the previous assembly elections held in April 2019, the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) emerged victorious, forming the state government with Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy as the Chief Minister.

Key Dates

  • Notification Date: March 16, 2024
  • Gazette Notification Issuance: April 18, 2024
  • Nomination Deadline: April 25, 2024
  • Scrutiny of Nominations: April 26, 2024
  • Withdrawal of Candidatures: April 29, 2024
  • Polling Date: May 13, 2024
  • Vote Counting: June 4, 2024
  • Election Completion Deadline: June 6, 2024

Major Parties and Alliances

  1. YSR Congress Party (YSRCP): Led by Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, the ruling party aims to retain power.
  2. Telugu Desam Party (TDP): Under the leadership of N. Chandrababu Naidu, the TDP seeks to regain its foothold.
  3. Jana Sena Party (JSP): Helmed by actor-politician Pawan Kalyan, JSP is a new entrant in Andhra Pradesh politics.
  4. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): Represented by Daggubati Purandeswari, the BJP aims to expand its presence.
  5. Indian National Congress (INC)Y. S. Sharmila, sister of Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, leads the INC in the state.

Key Constituencies and Candidates

Here are some notable constituencies and candidates:

  1. Srikakulam District:
    • Ichchapuram: YSRCP’s Priya Vijaya, TDP’s Bendalam Ashok, INC’s Masupatri Chakravarthy Reddy
    • Palasa: YSRCP’s Seediri Appalaraju, TDP’s Gouthu Sireesha, INC’s Majji Trinadh Babu
  2. Vizianagaram District:
    • Rajam (SC): YSRCP’s Tale Rajesh, TDP’s Kondru Murali Mohan, INC’s Kambala Rajavardhan Parvathipuram Manyam

The electoral battle in Andhra Pradesh promises high stakes, intense campaigning, and keenly contested seats. As voters head to the polls, the state awaits the verdict that will shape its future for the next five years. Avatar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Articles & Posts